Curriculum Planning


The National Curriculum for Years 1-6

The National Curriculum in England is currently in a process of transition. At Aqueduct Primary School we are currently following the timetable for transition, between the National Curriculum (2000) and the National Curriculum (2014), as set out by the Department of Education. To view the timetable for transition between curriculums please click on here.


From September 2014, the school has adopted and taught programmes of study set out in the National Curriculum (2014) for Science and Foundation subjects: [Art & Design, Design Technology, Computing (formerly known as Information Technology), Music, History, Geography and Physical Education.]

The school plans and teaches in themed units for Years 1&2, 3&4 and 5&6. These are taught on a two year rolling program, known as cycle 1 and 2, so as to avoid repetition for children and ensure continuity and progression.

As we are in the process of transition, we are developing our new two cycle and are currently in Cycle 1. A grid detailing the areas covered can be found below. This will be updated as we develop our medium term planning.

Our new Cornerstones curriculum is now being embedded. Please see the documents below

Curriculum Map Year 1 and 2 Cycle 1
Curriculum Map Year 3 and 4 Cycle 1
Curriculum Map Year 5 and 6 Cycle 6 


Our curriculum policy